• Home
  • Law professors elected to KU Faculty Senate

Law professors elected to KU Faculty Senate

Tuesday, May 01, 2018

LAWRENCE — University Governance is pleased to announce the results of the elections for Faculty Senate, Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FacEx and SenEx), University Senate president-elect, University Senate vice president and the Faculty Senate president-elect.  

The 39-member Faculty Senate includes representatives from every school and the College and is responsible for the development and review of important policies affecting KU faculty. The 64-member University Senate includes elected representatives from the Faculty Senate, Student Senate and the Staff Senate. They are responsible for a broad range of policies affecting faculty, staff and students. 
The new members elected to three-year terms in the Faculty Senate:

  • Melanie DeRousse, clinical associate professor of law
  • Jon Giullian, librarian, KU Libraries
  • Ashley Herda, lecturer of health, sport & exercise sciences
  • Nancy Kepple, assistant professor of social welfare
  • Cambrey Nguyen, clinical assistant professor of pharmacy practice
  • Rebecca Orozco, assistant librarian, KU Libraries 
  • Dorthy Pennington, associate professor of communication studies
  • Forrest Pierce, professor of music
  • Laurie Ramirez, associate professor of practice of social welfare
  • Hossein Saiedian, professor of electrical engineering & computer science
  • Paola Sanguinetti, professor of architecture
  • Lori Ann Williams, lecturer in the Applied English Center
  • Lua Kamal Yuille, associate professor, law.  

Also elected were those for four replacement terms. Michael Engel, professor of ecology & evolutionary biology, will be serving a two-year replacement term. Serving one-year replacement terms are Bruce Frey, professor of education psychology; Erik Lundquist, professor of molecular biosciences, and Sean Seyer, assistant professor of humanities. Matthew Jacobson, professor of film & media studies, will be serving during spring 2019 for a replacement term.  

The incoming Faculty Senate president for 2018-2019 is Kirk McClure, professor of urban planning, and the president-elect is Shawn Alexander, professor of African & African American studies. The president of the University Senate is Ruben Flores, associate professor of American studies, and the president-elect is Suzanne Valdez, clinical professor of law. 

Faculty elected to one-year terms on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FacEx/SenEx), which provides leadership for the Faculty Senate, are Valdez, Alexander, Kepple, Nguyen, Saiedian and Megan Green, associate professor of history. Flores and McClure will be ex-officio nonvoting members.   

A complete list of members can be found at the governance website.

Follow KU Law
Follow KU Law on Facebook Follow KU Law on Twitter Join the KU Law Alumni Group on LinkedIn Follow the KU Law Blog Follow KU Law on YouTube Follow KU Law on Instagram
Media Contacts

Margaret Hair
Director of External Affairs

Ashley Golledge
Communications Specialist