Frequently Asked Questions
What are the prerequisites to be considered for admission?
A bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution before the date of initial enrollment in law school and a reportable LSAT score is required.
When should I take the LSAT?
The LSAT will be administered on:
- February 6, 2016
- June 13, 2016
- September 24, 2016
- December 3, 2016
We recommend the test dates in June, October and December. KU will also accept LSAT scores from February 2016. June 2016 scores will only be considered if space is still available. KU will consider LSAT scores up to 5 years old. For more information and to register for the LSAT, visit www.lsac.org.
How can I prepare for the LSAT?
There are a wide range of test preparation books and classes to help you prepare for the LSAT. We recommend reviewing old tests, becoming familiar with the format and type of questions asked, and allowing plenty of time for preparation. For more information visit www.lsac.org.
How many students are in the first-year class?
Each year, KU Law looks for 120-125 students to join our community. Approximately 25 of these students are summer starters with the remainder starting in the fall.
What kind of qualifications must I have to be considered for admission?
The Office of Admissions completes a full file review considering the merits of each applicant. The requirements for admission are a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution and a reportable LSAT score. The entering class of 2015 had a median LSAT of 156 and a median GPA of 3.42.
Does KU Law prefer certain majors?
You may apply to KU Law with any undergraduate degree. The Admissions Committee will consider the rigor of the major, and whether you have taken classes that emphasize writing, analysis, and critical thinking skills.
How can I find out about residency?
The KU Office of the University Registrar (OUR) makes all residency decisions. For more information and to apply for residency, contact OUR at 785-864-4472 or www.residency.ku.edu.
To qualify for the KU Vantage Scholarship for residents of 11 counties in the Kansas City, Missouri, metro area, applicants must provide documentary evidence of residence in Bates, Buchanan, Cass, Clay, Clinton, Henry, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte or Ray county. Residency can be established in one of the following ways:
- Continuous residence in the 11 counties for at least the 12 months prior to the date of the residency application
- Combined continuous residence in the 11 counties and Kansas for the 12 months prior to the date of the residency application
- Graduation from a high school in the 11 counties and continuous residence in the 11 counties for 12 of the preceding 72 months
The types of documentary evidence that can be submitted include:
- Voter registration
- Driver’s license
- Vehicle registration
- Evidence of lease or homeownership of property
- High school transcript
Military Personnel/Peace Corps/Americorps: Consideration will be given on a case-by-case basis for public, service-oriented activities where the participant does not choose his or her residence.
Can I attend KU Law on a part-time basis or in an evening program?
No. Minimum enrollment is 12 hours per semester after the first year. First-year students take 29 hours their first year, 14 in the fall and 15 in the spring.
Where are classes offered?
Most academic classes take place in Green Hall in Lawrence, Kansas. Clinic classes are offered in a variety of locales. We also offer study abroad opportunities and a 6th Semester in D.C. program.
How do I arrange for a visit?
Individual visits are scheduled Monday through Friday. The Office of Admissions hosts two open houses and other events throughout the year. To schedule an individual visit, which includes sitting in on a first-year class and taking a tour, please go to the Visit page.
Scholarship Retention Data Worksheet
|Students Matriculating in||# Entering with Conditional Scholarships||# Whose Conditional Scholarships Have Since Been Reduced or Eliminated|
KU Law scholarships are funded by a number of different foundations and funds, and the retention requirements may vary depending on which scholarship students have received. In addition to the requirement to maintain full-time status, most of our scholarships require students to maintain a 3.0 minimum cumulative GPA beginning at the end of a student’s first year. This minimum was set because it corresponds closely to the median GPA of our first-year class (3.01 in 2014). Last year, three-fourths of first-year scholarship recipients retained their scholarship into the second year.