Tuition, Fees & Residency


Overview

KU Law is committed to preparing students to pursue legal careers that are defined by their passions, not by excessive financial burdens. To that end, our tuition rates for Kansans and out-of-state students are among the lowest in the region.

Learn about current tuition rates, fees and residency requirements on this page.




Current Tuition & Fees

For the fall and spring semester of the 2021-2022 academic year, tuition is $751 per credit hour for Kansas residents and $959 per credit hour for entering class nonresidents. All law students pay a required campus fee of $984 per year.

These fees entitle the student to course instruction, dispensary care for ordinary illnesses and special medical care at nominal rates, the use of the Ambler and Robinson Recreation Centers, free access to the Lawrence and KU transportation bus networks, and admission at reduced prices to most campus events, such as concerts, plays, films, lectures and athletic events.

For students starting in the Fall 2021 semester, total fees and tuition for the 2021-2022 academic year are $22,769 for a first-year Kansas resident and $28,804 for a first-year nonresident. Summer starters can take a variable number of credits in the first year and tuition will vary accordingly.

Financial Aid Fact Sheet 2020-2021
Estimated annual expensesKansas ResidentNonresident
Tuition per credit hour (29 hours in first year)$751$959
Fees per year$984$984
Total for tuition/fees$22,769$28,804
Room and board$10,274$10,274
Personal expenses$2,278$2,278
Transportation$3,106$3,106
Books$1,526$1,526
Cost of attendance*$39,953$45,988

To be considered for need-based scholarships, grants and loans, you must complete the FAFSA.

*Costs for room and board, personal expenses, transportation and books are estimates determined by the KU Office of Financial Aid & Scholarships


Residency Requirements

The state of Kansas sets a high bar for non-residents to qualify for residency for tuition purposes. Extensive information about the standards is available on the Kansas Board of Regents website. Essentially, if you have not been a Kansas resident prior to law school, you will be considered to have moved here for education purposes and thus not able to enjoy residency status. There are a few notable exceptions under which you may qualify:

  • If you have been a resident of Kansas for 12 of the preceding 60 months.
  • If you or your spouse has been recruited or transferred to Kansas by a Kansas employer.
  • If you are a member of or a veteran of the military.
  • If you are a registered member of a federally recognized Native American tribe or nation, or are otherwise eligible for enrollment at Haskell Indian Nations University.

If you are not eligible for Kansas resident tuition rates, you may become eligible by proving your intent to stay in Kansas indefinitely by purchasing property in Kansas, marrying a Kansan, accepting a permanent offer of employment, etc. Note that these are not automatic qualifiers and are simply examples of circumstances that have led to a grant of residency status.

If you are unsure about your status, you may apply for a residency determination through the KU Office of the University Registrar. This can be done prior to enrollment.


Admissions Events

Contact KU Law Admissions

Ready to be a Jayhawk Lawyer?

Apply today, learn about the value of a degree from KU Law or check your application status.