Moot Court Program

A male student argues a case at a podium in the Snell Courtroom.

Program overview

KU Law offers an extensive Moot Court Program with a long tradition of success and excellence. The program consistently ranks among the nation’s top 30. In 2022, KU Law’s Moot Court Program ranked 14th nationwide.

Students' first experience in moot court comes in their first-year Lawyering Skills class. All students write a summary judgment brief and engage in an oral argument. 

All second-year students are eligible to compete in KU's Second-Year In-House Moot Court Competition. This is a one-credit course in which individuals write an appellate brief and give a mock argument before a panel of judges.

The best advocates in the competition receive the Robert C. Foulston and George Siefkin Prizes for Excellence in Appellate Advocacy. Top performers from KU's Moot Court Council represent KU in various national and international moot court competitions.

Moot Court Program Information

Students on the Moot Court Council represent KU in various national and international moot court competitions. They also supervise the Second-Year In-House Competition under the direction of Professor Pamela Keller. For questions about the council, contact Pam Keller at

2022-2023 Moot Court Council students outside of Green Hall

2022-23 Moot Court Council


Jacob Barefield 
Emily Depew 
Caleb Hanlon 
Amanda McElfresh 
Allyson Monson 
Madeline Shriver 
Josh Sipp 
Jessica Steffen 
Madison Tannahill 
Stephen Tujague 

Faculty Advisor

Pamela Keller

Competition Coaches

Elizabeth Cateforis | Criminal Procedure, Environmental Law, Thurgood Marshall
John Head | International Law
Pamela Keller | National Moot Court, Veteran's Law, Employment Law
Lumen Mulligan | ABA Appellate Advocacy
Uma Outka | Environmental Law
Thomas Stacy | First Amendment Law, Criminal Law
Stephen Ware | Bankruptcy Law
Shawn Watts |  Federal Indian Law

Second-year law students have the opportunity to participate in the Shook, Hardy & Bacon (SHB) Advocates program. Professors in the Lawyering Skills program select students from each spring Lawyering II class to invite. Students selected are those who, in the professors' view, achieved the highest combined performance in brief-writing and oral advocacy.

Students in the Shook, Hardy & Bacon Advocates program become 2L members of SHB-sponsored national moot court teams.

Members of the 2022-23 Shook, Hardy & Bacon Advocates program pose for a group photo outside of Green Hall

2022-23 Shook, Hardy & Bacon Advocates

Karlie Bischoff
Drew Davis
Rachel Henderson
Jade Kearney
Hayley Koontz
Caitlin McPartland
Hailey Reed
Makaylah Jones
Collin Studer

Chief Justice John G. Roberts judges a moot court competition at KU Law. Judge Roberts is pictured in front of a blue background.

Students in the in-house competition work on a mock appellate problem before the United States Supreme Court. The final round of the competition is judged by active federal and state court judges. In past final rounds, KU students have argued before United States Supreme Court and Kansas Supreme Court justices, U.S. Circuit and U.S. District Court judges, and Kansas appellate and trial judges. Chief Justice John Roberts and Justice Clarence Thomas have judged the final rounds in past years.

The subject area of the competition varies from year to year. Each individual will have to write on one issue. The top 16 individuals become KU's Moot Court Council members in their third year of law school. They represent KU in various national and international moot court competitions.

Polsinelli law firm provides prizes for the best oral advocates and for the authors of the best briefs in the competition.

2022 Polsinelli Moot Court Awards:

  • Winning Teams: Jillian Roy and Karlie Bischoff, Maverick Edwards and Chris Birzer
  • Finalists: Madisen Hane, Natalie Jabben, John Langmaid and Anthony Leeks
  • First Place Oral Advocate: Jillian Roy
  • Second Place Oral Advocate: Chris Birzer
  • First Place Brief: Jamie Gallagher and Andrew Henderson
  • Second Place Brief: Maverick Edwards and Kevin Birzer

Fall 2021 Polsinelli Moot Court Awards:

  • Winning Teams: Allyson Monson and Amanda McElfresh, Jacob Barefield and Emily Depew
  • Best Oral Advocate: Amanda McElfresh
  • Second Place Oral Advocate: Emily Depew
  • Best Brief: Maddy Tannahill and Brien Stonebreaker
  • Second Best Brief: Caleb Hanlon and Steven Hendler

2021 Polsinelli Moot Court Awards:

  • Best Oral Advocate: Rachel Zierden
  • Finalists: Alec Feather, Konnor Manley, Grace Stewart-Johnson, Rachel Zierden
  • Best Brief: Rachel Zierden and Konnor Manley
  • Second Best Brief: Alec Feather and Grace Stewart-Johnson

2020 Polsinelli Moot Court Awards

  • Best Oral Advocate: Austyn Caisse
  • Finalists: Austyn Caisse, David Biegel, Sydney Buckley, Caleb Kampsen, Peyton Pender, Benjamin Ramburg, Jake Schmidt
  • Best Brief: Benjamin Ramburg and Caleb Kampsen
  • Second Best Brief: Jake Schmidt and Peyton Pender

Practice makes perfect: KU’s moot court

All rise, KU Law’s moot court is in session. With a long-standing tradition of success and excellence, KU Law's moot court program consistently ranks among the top 30 programs of its kind in the country.


Pamela Keller
Clinical Professor of Law
Moot Court Faculty Coach