How to Apply
Visit the tabs below to learn about application requirements for transfer students:
Transfer applications must be submitted by July 30. Beginning May 1, decisions are made on a rolling basis and communicated within 2-3 weeks from the time an application is complete. Students applying for transfer should apply through LSAC and the Credential Assembly Service (CAS).
While many of your documents will already be in your existing CAS account, you will need to additionally submit:
- A letter from the dean of the applicant's present school stating:
- that the applicant is in good standing,
- that the applicant is eligible to return to that school, and
- the applicant's class rank
- An official copy of the applicant's law school transcript showing all courses and grades. KU Law generally requires law school transcripts through the first year spring semester, but may make exceptions where a student has demonstrated outstanding academic performance.
- An electronic University of Kansas School of Law application form and $55 application fee. To complete the application, choose the JD application and mark transfer student on question #3.
- A statement explaining the reasons(s) for the transfer request and any interest in or connection to Kansas or the University of Kansas.
The University of Kansas School of Law welcomes transfer applications. The Admissions Committee considers the following standards when reviewing applications for admission with advanced standing:
- A transfer generally can be made only between the student's first and second year of law school.
- A transfer applicant generally must have at least 25 credit hours of law school coursework and be in good academic standing at an ABA-accredited law school.
- A transfer student may be awarded credit for up to 30 hours of study at another ABA-approved law school. Exact number of credits awarded is determined by the associate dean for academic affairs after review of the transfer student’s transcript, course content, hours earned, grades earned and/or other factors deemed relevant by the associate dean for academic affairs. But in any event, a grade of C (or equivalent) or better is necessary in each course for which transfer credit is sought.
- Upon admission, a $500 seat deposit is required. Seat deposit deadlines vary depending on when admission is granted, but not before April 1.
Frequently Asked Questions
Why transfer to KU Law?
Students transferring to KU Law can take advantage of all the things our three-year students do: engaged faculty, friendly students, extensive hands-on learning opportunities, and excellent career prospects. All of this takes place in Lawrence, Kansas, one of America’s best-loved college towns.
What does KU look for in a transfer applicant?
We look for the same thing we look for in our new students: candidates with a record of strong academic performance who are ready to make a positive impact at law school and beyond.
What about LSAT and undergraduate GPA?
Law schools use GPA and LSAT as predictors for how well a student will do in law school. But the best predictor for law school performance is law school performance. Therefore, although we do not completely ignore GPA and LSAT, we place a much higher emphasis on your first-year performance. Generally speaking, we select students who finish in the top third of their 1L class. Class rank is emphasized over GPA because GPAs vary from school to school.
Can I still participate in experiential programs?
Absolutely. KU Law has 9 hands-on education programs, including clinics, field placements and practicums. Many of our students even complete two clinics, which transfer students are eligible to do, too.
Will I be eligible for moot court and Law Review?
Yes, but not until your third year.
Are there scholarships available for transfer students?
Yes. Limited scholarship opportunities are available for qualified transfer candidates.