• Home
  • Alumni
  • Serve
  • Distinguished Alumni

Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Distinguished Alumni

distinguished alumni

The KU Law Society Distinguished Alumni Award is presented annually to KU School of Law graduates who have distinguished themselves through exemplary service to the legal profession, their communities, the university, and the state or country. Since 1964, the school has honored 80 alumni “whose lives have benefited the community and whose noteworthy contributions throughout the year have brought honor to the School of Law.”

View a list of previous recipients

You may nominate a candidate to be considered for this award by filling out the form below. Be sure to include career and service history and any previous honors.

The nomination form will be available in late 2018.

Mail Your Nomination

Would you rather send a hard copy of your nomination instead of the online form? If so, please include the same information and send your nomination to:

Office of the Dean
University of Kansas
School of Law
1535 W. 15th Street
Lawrence, KS 66045-7608

Contact Michele Rutledge, assistant to the dean, with any questions.

KU Law Magazine
Top 25 among public law schools — Business Insider
KU’s Project for Innocence: 2 wrongfully convicted citizens serving life sentences freed in 2015
7,700+ alumni in all 50 states, D.C., 3 U.S. territories, and 20 foreign countries
91 percent overall employment rate for Class of 2015 – top 23.3 percent nationally
23rd in the nation for most-improved employment rates
One-third of full-time faculty have written casebooks and treatises
25th nationwide for lowest debt at graduation
21st: “Best Schools for Practical Training”
77 percent of upper-level law classes have 25 or fewer students
National Champions: 2016 National Native American Law Students Association Moot Court Competition
#19 moot court program in the nation
#17 “best value” law school in the nation — National Jurist Magazine
KU Today